George B. Brain Education Library
Guide to Information Resources in Education

Defining Educational Terminology



Librarian | Education Library Home | Guide Home | Subject Guides | Definitions | News
Web Portals | Databases | Electronic Journals | Research Reports | Lesson Plans
Education Statistics | Professional Organizations | Jobs | Discussion Lists
Washington Information | Library Guides | For Education Librarians



Legend | Your First Stop | General Resources | Subject Resources

Legend

The resources listed below may include freely-available sites on the World Wide Web, printed materials available in the Washington State University Libraries, and electronic resources available only to WSU-affiliated users. One or more of the following symbols should be found next to each of the individual resources listed below:

(WWW) - World Wide Web (a site that is freely available to all users);

(WSU) - WSU Library Resource (an item that is physically available in the George B. Brain Education Library, or elsewhere in the WSU Libraries. The call number that follows the WSU designation may point non-WSU users to similar resources in their local libraries):

Note: Clicking on any of the links to external resources provided below will open a new browser window.

Return to top



Your First Stop

Education Week's "Education Glossary" (WWW)
A glossary of education terms provided by Education Week, one of the leading professional magazines in the field of education.
URL: http://www.edweek.org/context/glossary/

Return to top



General Resources

Dictionary of Education P.L.U.S. (WWW)
Provides definitions of terms used in the education research literature by drawing directly from specific articles and publications. URL:http://dictionary.soe.umich.edu/plus/

Dictionary of Educational Terms (WSU LB15 .B35 1995)
Defines a variety of education terms from a UK perspective. Available in Brain Education Library Reference.

Facts on File Dictionary of Education (WSU LB15 .S43 1988)
Provides brief definitions for a wide variety of terms related to education. Available in Brain Education Library Reference.

Return to top



Subject Resources

Dictionary of Counseling (WSU BF637 .C6 B444 1994)
Provides brief essays that define terms related to counseling and psychotherapy. Focus is on counseling in the twentiet-century United States. Includes lists of relevant references. Available in Brain Education Library Reference.

Dictionary of Multicultural Education (WSU LC1099 .D53 1997)
Provides brief essays that define terms related to multicultural education. Includes lists of relevant references. Available in Brain Education Library Reference.

Educational Administration Glossary (WSU LB15 .D373 1983)
Defines terms related to educational administration. Somewhat dated, but still useful. Available in Brain Education Library Reference.

The Literacy Dictionary (WSU LB1049.98 .L58 1995)
Defines terms related to reading, writing, literacy, and language arts education. Available in Brain Education Library Reference.

Return to top