George B. Brain Education Library
Guide to Information Resources in Education

Subject Guide to Higher Education Resources



Librarian | Education Library Home | Guide Home | Subject Guides | Definitions | News
Web Portals | Electronic Journals | Research Reports | Lesson Plans
Education Statistics | Professional Organizations | Jobs | Discussion Lists
Washington Information | Library Guides | For Education Librarians



Legend | What Will I Find Here? | Finding Books | Finding Articles
Directories | Reference Books | Statistics | Journals | Professional Organizations
Web Sites | Library Guides

Legend

The resources listed below may include freely-available sites on the World Wide Web, printed materials available in the Washington State University Libraries, and electronic resources available only to WSU-affiliated users. One or more of the following symbols should be found next to each of the individual resources listed below:

(WWW) - World Wide Web (a site that is freely available to all users);

(PDF) - World Wide Web Resources created in a "pre-defined data format." Requires you to install the Adobe Acrobat Reader on your computer;

(WSU) - WSU Library Resource (an item that is physically available in the George B. Brain Education Library, or elsewhere in the WSU Libraries. The call number that follows the WSU designation may point non-WSU users to similar resources in their local libraries):

(WORD) - Resource available through the World Wide Web, but created using Microsoft Word. Requires you to have Word installed on your computer, or to have the Microsoft "Word Viewer."

Note: Clicking on any of the links to external resources provided below will open a new browser window.

Return to top



What Will I Find Here?

This is a listing of print and electronic resources available through the WSU Libraries relevant to the study of higher education. Collected here are links to resources collected elsewhere on this Web site, and to listings of printed materials described in the WSU Libraries' Guide to Higher Education. You will also find materials listed here that are not found anywhere else on this site, but are specifically related to the study of higher education.

The term "higher education" may be used to refer to the study of any formal, post-secondary educational institution, including two-year colleges, four-year colleges, and research universities. It typically does not encompass other post-secondary educational options such as adult, continuing, or vocational education. Specific facets of higher education that may be examined include curriculum, counseling and student services, and educational administration. WSU library resources in the field of higher education are housed both in the Holland/New Library (Holland), and in the George B. Brain Education Library (Educ).

Return to top



Finding Books

Griffin (WWW)

Use Griffin, the WSU Libraries' online catalog to locate books and other materials relevant to the study of higher education. You may search Griffin by author, title, or subject. Among the subject headings that may help you locate books at WSU are the following:

  • African Americans – Education (Higher)
  • College Students
  • Community Colleges
  • Education, Higher
  • Minority College Students
  • Professional Education
  • Physical Fitness
  • Sports Administration

Works relevant to the study of specific aspects of higher education can also be found using subject headings such as:

  • College Sports
  • College Student Development
  • Counseling in Higher Education
  • Dormitories
  • Education, Higher – Administration
  • Education, Higher – Costs
  • Education, Higher – Economic Aspects
  • Sex Discrimination in Higher Education
  • Student Aid
  • Student Affairs Services
  • Universities and colleges -- United States -- Admission

URL: http://griffin.wsu.edu/search~

For additional assistance in using Griffin, please consult the Guide to Using Griffin (PDF).

To locate materials not held in the WSU Libraries', you may also search Summit, or make use of our Interlibrary Loan services.

For more information, please consult the Guide to Finding and Getting Books.

Return to top



Finding Articles

ERIC (1966- ) (WWW)
This database is available online through the WSU Libraries home page. The Educational Resources Information Center produces this index to over 750 scholarly journals in the field of education. Also included is an index to thousands of "education documents," unpublished materials of all types that have been archived by ERIC and made available through the ERIC microfiche collection (including conference papers, speeches, government reports, etc.). The ERIC microfiche collection is available in the Brain Education Library. Electronic access to the full text of selected journal articles is available through "Electronic Collections Online,", and access to selected ERIC documents is available through "E*Subscribe."

URL: http://www.systems.wsu.edu/griffin/INDEXES.htm (select database by title)

Education Abstracts (1983- ) (WWW) (WSU Educ Reference Z5813 .E23)
This database is available online through the WSU Libraries home page. Over 350 educational publications are indexed in this database, including periodicals, yearbooks, and monographs. The print counterpart to this database, Education Index (1929- ), is available in Brain Education Library Reference. Electronic access to selected journal articles is available through Education Abstracts.

URL: http://www.systems.wsu.edu/griffin/INDEXES.htm (select database by title)

Higher Education Abstracts (1965- ) (WSU Holland Reference LB2343 .C6)
This print index is available in Holland Library Reference. Approximately 200 journals are indexed for their articles relevant to higher education. From 1965-84, this index was called "College Student Personnel Abstracts" and it retains a strong focus on higher education student services. There is no electronic counterpart to this index available in the WSU Libraries.

Return to top



Directories and Rankings

American Community Colleges: A Guide, 10th ed. (on order) (1995)

American Universities and Colleges, 16th ed. (WSU Holland Reference LA226 .A65) (2001)

College and University Rankings (WWW)
A comprehensive collection of links to publications that rank colleges and universities, as well as references to research on the controversies surrounding rating systems from the University of Illinois' Education and Social Science Library.
URL: http://gateway.library.uiuc.edu/edx/rankings.htm

College Blue Book, 28th ed. (5 vols.) (WSU Holland Reference LA226 .C685) (2001)

Directory of American Scholars, 9th ed. (5 vols.) (WSU Holland Reference LA2311 .C32) (1999)

Educational Rankings Annual (WSU Holland Reference LB2331.63 .E38x)(2000)
Collects ranking information from a wide variety of scholarly, popular, and commercial resources.

National Faculty Directory, 32nd ed. (3 vols.) (WSU Holland Reference L901 .N34) (2001)

Washington State Community and Technical Colleges (WWW)
Links to information on community and technical colleges in Washington.
URL: http://www.sbctc.ctc.edu/colleges/

Return to top



Selected Reference Books

Philip G. Altbach, ed., International Higher Education: An Encyclopedia (2 vols.) (WSU Holland Reference LB15 .I59 1991)

Margaret Barr, et al., Handbook of Student Affairs Administration, 2nd ed. (WSU Holland LB2342.92 .B37 2000)

Burton R. Clark and Guy R. Neave, eds., The Encyclopedia of Higher Education (4 vols.) (WSU Holland Reference LB15 .E49 1992)

William A. Kaplin and Barbara A. Lee, The Law of Higher Education: A Comprehensive Guide to Legal Implications of Administrative Decision-Making, 3rd ed. (WSU Holland Reference KF4225 .K36 1995)

Asa S. Knowles, ed., International Encyclopedia of Higher Education (10 vols.) (WSU Holland Reference LB15 .I57)

Return to top



Statistics

Almanac of Higher Education (annual) (WSU Holland Reference LA226 .A45x)
Provides statistical information on American higher education at the national and the state levels for the years 1989-1995. For current information, see the annual "Almanac" issue of the Chronicle of Higher Education.

Note: Some of this information is freely available on the Chronicle Web site.

College Opportunities On-Line (WWW)
Sponsored by the National Center for Education Statistics, COOL provides basic statistical information on 9,000 colleges and universities in the United States.
URL: http://www.nces.ed.gov/ipeds/cool/

Encyclopedia of ED Stats (WWW)
One-stop shopping for education statistics. This site, maintained by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), allows you to search the contents of major NCES publications such as The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics.
URL: http://www.nces.ed.gov/edstats/

Fact Book on Higher Education (WSU Educ Reference LA227.3 .A44a) (1997)

Fact Book on Women in Higher Education (WSU Holland Reference LC1756 .T68 1991)

Return to top



Core Journals, Electronic Journals, and Other Serials

Change (WSU Holland LB2300 .C35)

Chronicle of Higher Education (WSU Holland LB2300 .C4)

Higher Education: Handbook of Theory and Research (WSU Educ LB2300 .H53x)

History of Higher Education Annual (WSU Holland LB2300 .H55)

Journal of College Student Development (WSU Holland LB2343 .J64)

Journal of the First-Year Experience & Students in Transition (WSU Holland LB2343.32 .J68)

Journal of Higher Education (WSU Holland L11 .J78) (also available online)

NASPA Journal (WSU Holland LB2300 .N2)

NEA Higher Education Almanac (available online)

Review of Higher Education (WSU Holland LA226 .R48) (also available online)

Student Affairs Online (available online)

Thought and Action (available online)

Workplace: The Journal of Academic Labor (available online)

For more information on electronic journals at WSU, please consult the Finding Electronic Journals page.

For a comprehensive listing of journals in the field of higher education, visit the Association for Institutional Research Higher Education Publications.

In addition, you may consult a variety of useful monographic series related to higher education that are available through the WSU Libraries, including New Directions for Community Colleges, New Directions for Higher Education, New Directions for Student Services, the ASHE-ERIC Higher Education Reports, and the ASHE Reader series. See a librarian for help in locating these materials.

Return to top



Professional and Scholarly Organizations

For a comprehensive listing of professional and scholarly organizations in the field of higher education, visit the Association for Institutional Research Higher Education Associations.

Return to top



Selected Web Sites

Higher Education Resource Hub (WWW)
Links to reference material, Web sites, course syllabi in higher education, college and university directories, and much more.
URL: http://www.higher-ed.org/

Institute for Higher Education Policy (WWW)

URL: http://www.ihep.com/

National Center for Postsecondary Improvement (WWW) (PDF)
A research center sponsored by Stanford University, the University of Pennsylvania, and the University of Michigan, the NCPI site includes links information on state and federal higher education policies, research reports on higher education, and more.
URL: http://www.stanford.edu/group/ncpi/

National Center for Public Policy and Higher Education (WWW) (PDF)
An independent, nonprofit, and nonpartisan organization dedicated to "ensuring educational opportunity, affordability, and quality in American higher education" Site includes access to a quarterly newsletter, higher education news and opinion, and research studies..
URL: http://www.highereducation.org/

StudentAffairs.com (WWW)
Student affairs job listings, higher education news, and an electronic journal focusing on the use of technology in student affairs work - all rolled up into one site!
URL: http://studentaffairs.com/

Return to top



Guides to Library Resources

The following are links to pathfinders, finding aids, and other guides to WSU library resources in higher education.

Library Guide to Higher Education (PDF)
A summary of the content from this page ready for printing. This guide does not include every resource listed on this page.
URL: http://www.systems.wsu.edu/bin/libdocs/subject/highered.pdf

WSU Theses and Dissertations in Higher Education (Word)
A listing of all theses and dissertations completed at WSU in the area of higher education from 1980-2000. As many materials from 2000 are still in the process of being cataloged and bound, this is still an evolving document.
URL: http://www.wsulibs.wsu.edu/educ/docs/higher_ed_theses.doc.

Return to top