George B. Brain Education Library
Guide to Information Resources in EducationFinding Education Statistics
Librarian | Education Library Home | Guide Home | Subject Guides | Definitions | News
Web Portals | Databases | Electronic Journals | Research Reports | Lesson Plans
Education Statistics | Professional Organizations | Jobs | Discussion Lists
Washington Information | Library Guides | For Education Librarians
Legend | Your First Stop | Quick Stats | General Reference | Web Sites
Higher Education | Historical | International & Comparative | Want to Know More?The resources listed below may include freely-available sites on the World Wide Web, printed materials available in the Washington State University Libraries, and electronic resources available only to WSU-affiliated users. One or more of the following symbols should be found next to each of the individual resources listed below:
- (WWW) - World Wide Web (a site that is freely available to all users);
- (WSU) - WSU Library Resource (an item that is physically available in the George B. Brain Education Library, or elsewhere in the WSU Libraries. The call number that follows the WSU designation may point non-WSU users to similar resources in their local libraries):
Note: Clicking on any of the links to external resources provided below will open a new browser window.
- Encyclopedia of ED Stats (WWW)
- One-stop shopping for education statistics. This site, maintained by the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), allows you to search the contents of major NCES publications such as The Condition of Education, The Digest of Education Statistics, and Projections of Education Statistics.
URL: http://www.nces.ed.gov/edstats/
- Chronicle of Higher Education - Facts & Figures (WWW)
- Statistics on a variety of topics in related to higher education, including salaries, endowments, graduation rates, philanthropy, and more.
URL: http://www.chronicle.com/stats
- Fact Sheets on Higher Education (WWW)
- Statistics related to questions such as enrollments in higher education, college costs, etc., provided by the American Council on Education.
URL: http://www.acenet.edu/resources/fact-sheets/
- NASBE State Profiles (WWW)
- State-level statistics for public education provided by the National Association of State Boards of Education.
URL: http://www.nasbe.org/Educational_Issues/State_Stat.html
- NCES Fast Facts (WWW)
- Statistics on a wide variety of topics provided "in bite-sized form" by the National Center for Education Statistics. Organized by subject and searchable. Includes daily features and statistical graphics.
URL: http://www.nces.ed.gov/fastfacts/
- Washington Statistics (WWW) (PDF)
- A variety of statistics, including fast facts and data sets, from the Office of the Washington State Superintendent of Public Instruction. State, district and local statistics are available.
URL: http://www.k12.wa.us/dataadmin/
- Condition of Education (WSU L112 .N377a)(WWW)
- A report to Congress by the National Center for Education Statistics that focuses on 60 indicators, representing a consensus of professional judgment on the most significant national measures of the condition and progress of education. Annual. Most recent edition in Brain Education Library Reference. Can also be accessed through the Encyclopedia of ED Stats.
- Digest of Education Statistics (WSU LB2846 .D54x)(WWW)
- The Digest provides a compilation of statistical information covering the field of American education from kindergarten through graduate school; includes more than 400 tables. Bi-annual. Most recent edition in Brain Education Library Reference. Can also be accessed through the Encyclopedia of ED Stats.
- Education Statistics of the United States (WSU LA201 .E38)
- Brings together in one volume a comprehensive selection of statistics from a number of sources, including the National Center for Education Statistics and the Bureau of the Census. Available in WSU Holland Library Reference.
- Schools and Staffing in the United States: A Statistical Profile (WSU ED 1.302:SCH 6/7/)
- Reports the results of the Department of Education's Schools and Staffing Survey (SASS), "the most comprehensive survey of the school work force and teacher supply and demand ever conducted in the United States." Provides information on the composition of the teaching profession, workplace issues (e.g., class sizes), salary, practitioner opinions on a variety of professional issues, etc. Released every 5 years. Available in WSU Holland Library Government Documents.
- Childstats.gov: Forum on Child and Family Statistics (WWW)
- Provides "access to federal and state statistics and reports on children and their families, including: population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment,and education." Click on "Related Sites" for a list of resources on education statistics. Also includes online reports by the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics.
URL: http://childstats.gov/
- National Center for Education Statistics (WWW)
- The NCES, a branch of the United States Department of Education, is the single, richest resource for educational statistics on the World Wide Web. Produces print resources on a variety of topics, as well as the Web-based Encyclopedia of ED Stats. Use this Web site not only to search materials available online, but also to identify titles of print resources that may be held in the library. Includes special sections on fast facts and URL: http://www.nces.ed.gov/
- School District Data Book Profiles (1990 Census School District Demographics Software) (WWW)
- Produced by the NCES, the School District Data Book is "an electronic library containing social, financial and administrative data for each of the 15,274 school districts in the United States for 1989-1990. The software must be installed locally, and is available in Windows and DOS versions.
URL: http://nces.ed.gov/surveys/sdds/c1990s.asp
- Statistical Resources on the Web (WWW)
- The University of Michigan has compiled this collection of statistical information sources available through the World Wide Web. Relevant sections include resources on "business," "education," and "government."
URL: http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/stats.html
- Almanac of Higher Education (WSU LA226 .A45x) (WWW)
- Provides statistical information on American higher education at the national and the state levels for the years 1989-1995. Available in WSU Holland Library Reference.
Note: For current information, see the annual Chronicle of Higher Education - Almanac Issue. Online access to past and present issues of the Almanac is available to subscribers at:
URL: http://chronicle.com/free/almanac/1999/almanac.htm
- Fact Book on Higher Education (WSU LA227.3.A44a)
- Provides statistical information on a wide range of topics related to higher education. Bi-annual. Available in WSU Holland Library Reference.
- Fact Book on Women in Higher Education (WSU LC1756 .T68 1991)
- Provides statistical information on women in higher education, including students, faculty, and administrators. Available in WSU Holland Library Reference.
- Minorities in Higher Education (WSU LC3727 .A47a)
- The major national source of information on trends and issues related to minorities in higher education, with information on American Indians, African Americans, Hispanics, and Asian Americans. Annual. Recent editions available in WSU Holland Library.
- National Profile of Community Colleges (WSU LB2328 .C64x)
- Provides statistical information on community colleges and their student bodies. Most recent edition available in Brain Education Library Reference.
- 120 Years of American Education: A Statistical Portrait (WSU ED 1.302:ED 8/12) (PDF)
- Provides historical statistics for American education for the period 1870-1990. Available in WSU Holland Government Documents, and online.
URL: http://nces.ed.gov/pubs93/93442.pdf
- Education in the United States, 1940-1983 (WSU LC69 .O54 1985)
- Provides demographic and economic data relevant to American education. Available in the Brain Education Library.
- State Comparisons of Education Statistics: 1969-70 to 1996-97 (WSU ED 1.302:ST 2/4)
- Collects comparable statistics for U. S. states and regions on a number of key education indicators for K-16 education, including enrollment, graduation rates, special education programs, etc. Available in WSU Holland Government Documents.
- Note: Many of the resources listed above (e.g., The Condition of Education) are released on a regular basis. The most recent editions are available in Brain Education Library Reference, but historical statistics may be obtained by making use of the earlier editions, which are often available in the circulating collection.
International & Comparative Statistics
- Education at a Glance: OECD Indicators (WSU LB2846 .E32x)
- Provides detailed information on a number of education indicators from countries belonging to the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. Annual. Available in WSU Holland Library.
- Education Indicators: An International Perspective (WSU ERIC Microfiche ED 403 331)
- Provides statistical data comparing U. S. performance on a number of education indicators (education achievement and attainment, enrollment, funding, etc.) with the performance of a number of other countries (especially the G-7 countries). Available in the ERIC Microfiche Collection housed in the Brain Education Library.
- International Archive of Education Data (WWW)
- Designed for use by scholars, the IAED provides access to data sets developed as part of national and international studies of education. A data analysis system is also available for use with the materials found on this site.
URL: http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/IAED/
- OECD Education Database (WWW)
- The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development has created this database of "internationally comparable data on key aspects of the education systems," including information on educational finance, enrollment, and professional personnel.
URL: http://www.oecd.org/els/stats/edu_db/edu_db.htm
- UNESCO Statistics (WWW)
- The United Nations Organization for Education, Science & Culture's Institute for Statistics provides access to education and literacy information from around the world.
URL: http://unescostat.unesco.org/uisen/stats/stats0.htm
- U.S. Network for Education Information (WWW)
- The Department of Education maintains the USNEI as a gateway to information about U.S. education for non-U.S. citizens, and as a gateway to information about non-U.S. education for Americans. Choose the option for "Non-U.S. Education Systems."
URL: http://www.ed.gov/NLE/USNEI/
- World Data on Education (WWW)
- The International Bureau of Education has created this database of statistical information covering 80 national education systems worldwide.
URL: http://www.ibe.unesco.org/International/Databanks/Wde/wde.htm
- Griffin (WWW)
- Use Griffin, the WSU Libraries' online catalog, to locate statistical information related to more narrowly defined areas of interest. For example, try searching Griffin using the subject heading: school violence -- united states -- statistics. You will retrieve a number of items that report statistics on this subject, e.g., Indicators of School Crime and Safety 2000.
- Educational Statistics: National and International (WWW)
- An annotated guide to major Web sites developed by the Curriculum Materials Committee of the Education and Behavioral Sciences Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries.
URL: http://libweb.uncc.edu/cimc/ebsscmc/statistics.htm
- Learning About Education Through Statistics (WSU ED 1.302:L 47/7/999)
- A publication of the National Center for Education Statistics, this slim volume provides a useful introduction to the variety of statistical measures collected by the NCES and provides some suggestions to the new researcher about how this information might be used. Available in WSU Holland Government Documents.
- Locating Education and Literacy Statistics (WWW)
- This ERIC Digest provides a number of suggestions on how to locate statistical information in education.
URL: http://www.ed.gov/databases/ERIC_Digests/ed363796.html