George B. Brain Education Library
Guide to Information Resources in EducationFinding Web Portals
Librarian | Education Library Home | Guide Home | Subject Guides | Definitions | News
Web Portals | Databases | Electronic Journals | Research Reports | Lesson Plans
Education Statistics | Professional Organizations | Jobs | Discussion Lists
Washington Information | Library Guides | For Education Librarians
Legend | What is a "Web Portal"? | General Portals
Subject Portals | Government Portals | Want to Know More?The resources listed below may include freely-available sites on the World Wide Web, printed materials available in the Washington State University Libraries, and electronic resources available only to WSU-affiliated users. One or more of the following symbols should be found next to each of the individual resources listed below:
- (WWW) - World Wide Web (a site that is freely available to all users);
- (WSU) - WSU Library Resource (an item that is physically available in the George B. Brain Education Library, or elsewhere in the WSU Libraries. The call number that follows the WSU designation may point non-WSU users to similar resources in their local libraries):
Note: Clicking on any of the links to external resources provided below will open a new browser window.
Web Portals are sites on the World Wide Web that you can use to identify other useful Web sites in a particular subject area. They are your "roadmaps" to the wealth of education-related resources on the Web.
You will find 3 categories of portals on this page: general portals (which cover multiple topics in education); subject-specific portals (which cover a particular area of education in depth); and government portals (which provide access to government information).
- The Educator's Reference Desk (WWW)
- The Educator's Reference Desk includes access to the ERIC database, archives AskERIC questions and answers, online lesson plans, and a virtual library of other online materials.
URL: http://www.eduref.org/
- EdSitement (WWW)
- A joint project of the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Council of Great City Schools, and others, this site is "a constantly growing collection of the most valuable online resources for teaching English, history, art history, and foreign languages." Includes lesson plans.
URL: http://edsitement.neh.gov/
- Education World (WWW)
- An enormous collection of education-related sites, with sections on "Lesson Planning," "Curriculum," and "Administration." Also includes reviews of education sites.
URL: http://www.education-world.com/
- Librarians' Index to the Internet - Education Topics (WWW)
- Part of one of the leading collections of Web-based resources. Web sites are collected (and searchable) by subject and annotated. Education topics are arranged both by field (e.g., "early childhood") and by "hot topic" (e.g., "school safety").
URL: http://lii.org/search/file/education
- Michigan Electronic Library - Education (WWW)
- An excellent collection of electronic resources in education with a useful description of criteria for inclusion. Resources are arranged both by topic and by potential audience. Includes "hot topics" and a list of "essential resources."
URL: http://www.mel.lib.mi.us/education/edu-cp.html
- Statistical Resources on the Web (WWW)
- The University of Michigan has compiled this collection of statistical information sources available through the World Wide Web. Relevant sections include resources on "business," "education," and "government."
URL: http://www.lib.umich.edu/govdocs/stats.html
- EdPsych Junction: Tools & Resources for Educational and School Psychology (WWW)
- Developed by librarians at Miami University of Ohio, this site includes "references about how to use the Mental Measurements Yearbook, a discussion board, bibliograpy of print resources, syllabi collections, and class handouts and assignments
URL: http://www.lib.muohio.edu/edpsych/
- Eisenhower National Clearinghouse (WWW)
- Housed at The Ohio State University, this site promises "the best selection of K-12 mathematics and science resources on the Internet!"
URL: http://www.enc.org/
- Language Policy (WWW)
- A collection of resources by language policy scholar James Crawford. Follows current developments in language policy in the schools, bilingual education, etc. Includes links to the full-text of research papers and other essays.
URL: http://ourworld.compuserve.com/homepages/JWCRAWFORD/
- LD Online: Learning Disabilities Information and Resources (WWW)
- "An interactive guide to learning disabilities for parents, teachers, and children," this site includes an annotated list of web-based resources, links to discussion lists, weekly research updates, and links to agencies serving the LD population.
URL: http://www.ldonline.org/
- Multicultural Pavilion: Multicultural Education Resources (WWW)
- Developed by a doctoral student at the University of Virginia, this portal to Internet resources for the study of multicultural education includes links to a variety of resources and hosts an electronic discussion list.
URL: http://www.edchange.org/multicultural/
- National Parent Information Network (WWW)
- A joint project of the ERIC Clearinghouse on Elementary and Early Childhood Education and the ERIC Clearinghouse on Urban Education, the NPIN provides links to materials of interest to parents or those who work with parents. Includes "Parents AskERIC" and "PARENTING-L," an electronic discussion list.
URL: http://www.npin.org/
- School Psychology Resources Online (WWW)
- Sandra Steingart of the Baltimore County Public Schools has created this comprehensive collection of resources related to school psychology. Over 1,000 annotated links, plus job search information and a daily cartoon.
URL: http://www.schoolpsychology.net/
- StudentAffairs.com (WWW)
- Comprehensive guide to Internet resources for College Student Personnel Administration, including web sites, discussion lists, and employment information.
URL: http://www.studentaffairs.com/
Did I miss a Web Portal in your area of interest? Send me the link.
- Access Washington - Education (WWW)
- Information on state and local educational initiatives. Links to the State Board of Education, Superintendent of Public Instruction, etc. (click on the "Education" tab on the left hand menu bar)
URL: http://access.wa.gov/home.aspx#
- Federal Resources for Educational Excellence (FREE) (WWW)
- A collection of educational resources that have been developed by agencies of the federal government (or their partners) and are freely-available over the World Wide Web. Organized by subject.
URL: http://www.ed.gov/free/
- United States Department of Education (WWW)
- The ultimate portal to education information on the Internet. The Department of Education site includes links to departmental offices such as ERIC and the National Center for Education Statistics, as well as to the full-text of selected government publications, speeches by the Secretary of Education, and much more.
URL: http://www.ed.gov/
- The Scout Report Archives - Education (WWW)
- The "Education" section of one of the leading current awareness sources on the Internet. Sites are annotated and evaluated. One of the best available resources for locating a wide variety of resources.
URL: http://scout.cs.wisc.edu/Archives/SPT--BrowseResources.php?ParentId=187
- Yahoo! Education (WWW)
- The "Education" section of this popular directory includes collections of sites arranged by topic and audience. Includes links to other Internet resources such as discussion lists.
URL: http://dir.yahoo.com/education/index.htmlNote: Remember to also check the Professional Organizations section of this site for additional Web Portals in education.