George B. Brain Education Library
Guide to Information Resources in Education

Finding Current News



Librarian | Education Library Home | Guide Home | Subject Guides | Definitions | News
Web Portals | Databases | Electronic Journals | Research Reports | Lesson Plans
Education Statistics | Professional Organizations | Jobs | Discussion Lists
Washington Information | Library Guides | For Education Librarians



Legend | Your First Stop | General News Sources | Specialized News Sources
Want to Know More?

Legend

The resources listed below may include freely-available sites on the World Wide Web, printed materials available in the Washington State University Libraries, and electronic resources available only to WSU-affiliated users. One or more of the following symbols should be found next to each of the individual resources listed below:

(WWW) - World Wide Web (a site that is freely available to all users);

(WSU) - WSU Library Resource (an item that is physically available in the George B. Brain Education Library, or elsewhere in the WSU Libraries. The call number that follows the WSU designation may point non-WSU users to similar resources in their local libraries):

Note: Clicking on any of the links to external resources provided below will open a new browser window.

Return to top



Your First Stop

Education Week on the Web (WWW)
Online version of one of the leading news sources in education. Focus is on current events, with more substantive articles available in its sister publication, Teacher Magazine. Includes a searchable archive of past issues (1981- ).
URL: http://www.edweek.org/

Return to top



General News Sources

Department of Education - News and Events (WWW)
Highlights updates to the Department of Education web site and links to new programs and publications. Provides access to reports on progress toward departmental policy goals and to speeches and press releases.
URL: http://www.ed.gov/news.html

Education Commission of the States - ECS E-Clips (WWW)
Daily listing of top stories from the Education Commission of the States. Available as a daily e-mail bulletin. Choose "ECS e-Clips" from the ECS home page.
URL: http://www.ecs.org/

Eisenhower National Clearinghouse - Education Headlines (WWW)
The Eisenhower National Clearinghouse for Science and Mathematics Education (ENC) provides this daily bulletin drawn from newspapers across the country.
URL: http://enc.org/educationheadlines/

Los Angeles Times Education Section (WWW)
Education articles and feature stories with a national scope, but with an emphasis on education in the West.
URL: http://www.latimes.com/news/learning/

New York Times Education Section (WWW)
National coverage of education issues, plus special links for students and teachers making use of the Times in the classroom. This site is freely accessible, but requires users to register during the first visit.
URL: http://www.nytimes.com/yr/mo/day/national/index-education.html

Washington Post Education Section (WWW)
Co-sponsored by the Post and Education Week, this new section of the Post Web site includes links to past and present education articles, with past articles organized by topic.
URL: http://washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/education/

Return to top



Specialized News Sources

Chronicle of Higher Education (Holland/New Library LB2300 .C4) (WWW)
The leading source for current events in higher education. Current and recent issues are available in the Current Jounals Reading Room in Holland Library. Older issues are available on microfiche in Holland Microforms.

Note: The Chronicle is also available online, but most of the resources on the site are available only to subscribers.

Return to top



Want to Know More?

Education Week - Clip File (WWW)
The "clip file" collects links to articles on education from local newspapers across the country. The articles found in the "clip file" are updated weekly, but they are not archived.
URL: http://www.edweek.org/clips/

Eisenhower National Clearinghouse - Education Headlines (WWW)
Subscribe to the ENC "Education Headlines" service to have daily updates delivered directly to your e-mail account. Send a message with the single word "subscribe" in the message body to: een-request@enc.org

Stateline.org: Education (WWW)
Links to news articles about education from all 50 states.
URL: http://www.stateline.org/education/

Return to top