George B. Brain Education Library
Guide to Information Resources in Education

Discussion Lists


Librarian | Education Library Home | Guide Home | Subject Guides | Definitions | News
Web Portals | Databases | Electronic Journals | Research Reports | Lesson Plans
Education Statistics | Professional Organizations | Jobs | Discussion Lists
Washington Information | Library Guides | For Education Librarians



Legend | What is a "Discussion List"? | AERA Lists | H-Net Lists
Professional Lists | Journal Update Lists | Librarian Lists | Miscellaneous Lists
Want to Know More?

Legend

The resources listed below may include freely-available sites on the World Wide Web, printed materials available in the Washington State University Libraries, and electronic resources available only to WSU-affiliated users. One or more of the following symbols should be found next to each of the individual resources listed below:

(WWW) - World Wide Web (a site that is freely available to all users);

Note: Clicking on any of the links to external resources provided below will open a new browser window.

Return to top



What is a "Discussion List"?

Discussion lists (also called "mailing lists") use electronic mail to create a community of scholars, students, professionals, and interested observers who use the list as a forum to announce new resources, discuss ideas, debate issues related to the subject of the list, etc. Occasionally, a discussion list will have a Web site associated with it that allows the list owners to archive past discussions, or create collections of links to related resources on the Internet.

In order to participate in a discussion list, you must subscribe to the list. Some lists are open (i.e., they accept subscriptions from anyone), while others are closed (i.e., they accept subscriptions only from people with appropriate credentials or membership in a sponsoring organization). Subscription procedures differ according to the type of software being used to manage the list and directions can usually be found on the list home page.

Below, you will find links to some of the major discussion networks in the field of education, as well as to a number of individual lists related to that topic. If you know of a education-related discussion list that is not included here, please contact Lorena O'English.

Return to top



AERA Lists

The American Educational Research Association is the leading organization of educational researchers and scholars. AERA sponsors a number of discussion lists related to research in education. A general listing of AERA lists is available through http://www.aera.net/divisions/?id=179, but individual list descriptions are also available below.

In addition to the Division discussion lists, there are a number of more specialized lists that serve the ever-expanding collection of AERA Special Interest Groups (SIGs).

Return to top



H-Net Lists

H-Net is "an international interdisciplinary organization of scholars and teachers dedicated to developing the enormous educational potential of the Internet and the World Wide Web." H-Net discussion lists provide a forum for discussion, but also include announcements of conferences and funding sources, peer-edited book reviews, and other features. A complete list of H-Net discussion lists is available at <http://www2.h-net.msu.edu/lists/>.

Return to top



Professional Lists

Many of the professional organizations listed elsewhere on this site include a discussion list as one benefit of membership. Most of these lists are limited to members only. View the list of professional associations and organizations to determine if there is a professional organization in your area of interest and if a members-only discussion list is offered.

Return to top



Librarian Lists

Librarians may subscribe to a variety of the above lists, as well as to lists that focus specifically on education information issues. Several lists useful to librarians are collected below.

Note: While some of the lists below are discussion lists, others are simply announcement lists that alert librarians to new resources in the field. Like other professional lists, some of the librarian lists are limited to members only.

Return to top



Miscellaneous Lists

Return to top



Want to Know More?

EdWeb - E-Mail Discussion Lists (WWW)
A massive collection of education-related lists with short descriptions. Part of Andy Carvin's extensive EdWeb site. A great place to start. (Submitted by Judy Walker, University of North Carolina at Charlotte)
URL: http://www.ibiblio.org/edweb/lists.html

Education Listservs (WWW)
An organized collection of Education listservs. Especially good for identifying practitioner-oriented lists.
URL: http://www.mste.uiuc.edu/listservs/subjectsearch.html

Topica: Education (WWW)
The Topica directory of e-mail lists provides a directory of education-related lists. The range of lists provided includes everything from the most popular to the scholarly.
URL: http://www.liszt.com/dir/?cid=4

Teacher.Net - Mailrings (WWW)
A collection of practitioner-oriented lists organized by grade level, subject, special interest, and geographic region. (Submitted by Judy Walker, University of North Carolina at Charlotte)
URL: http://www.teachers.net/mailrings/

Return to top