George B. Brain Education Library
Guide to Information Resources in EducationFinding A Job
Librarian | Education Library Home | Guide Home | Subject Guides | Definitions | News
Web Portals | Databases | Electronic Journals | Research Reports | Lesson Plans
Education Statistics | Professional Organizations | Jobs | Discussion Lists
Washington Information | Library Guides | For Education Librarians
Legend | WSU Resources | Certification Questions | Test Prep
Reference Books | Web Sites | Tips for New Teachers | Want to Know More?The resources listed below may include freely-available sites on the World Wide Web, printed materials available in the Washington State University Libraries, and electronic resources available only to WSU-affiliated users. One or more of the following symbols should be found next to each of the individual resources listed below:
- (WWW) - World Wide Web (a site that is freely available to all users);
- (PDF) - World Wide Web Resources created in a "pre-defined data format." Requires you to install the Adobe Acrobat Reader on your computer;
- (WORD) - Resource available through the World Wide Web, but created using Microsoft Word. Requires you to have Word installed on your computer, or to have the Microsoft "Word Viewer."
Note: Clicking on any of the links to external resources provided below will open a new browser window.
Washington State University Resources
- WSU College of Education Teacher Education Student Services (WWW)
The first stop for WSU's prospective teachers, administrators, counselors, etc.
URL: http://www.educ.wsu.edu/tess/
- Washington Office of the Superintendent of Public Instruction - Certification (WWW) (PDF)
Information on certification and licensure requirements in the State of Washington.
URL: http://www.k12.wa.us/cert/
- 50 State's Certification Requirements (WWW)
Developed by the University of Kentucky College of Education, the goal of this ongoing project is to collect information on the certification requirements in all 50 states. Also includes links to position announcements.
URL: http://www.uky.edu/Education/TEP/usacert.html
- National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (WWW)
Provides information for teachers interested in pursuing National Board Certification.
URL: http://www.nbpts.org/
- Requirements for Certification of Teachers, Counselors, Librarians, Administrators for Elementary and Secondary Schools (WSU LB1771 .W6)
The standard work. Available in Brain Education Library Reference.
- Cracking the PRAXIS II: NTE, by Cornelia Cocke (WSU LB1762 .C63x 1997)
Available in the Brain Education Library.
- Praxis II: NTE (WSU LB1762 .P73x 1998/1999)
Available on reserve in the Brain Education Library.
- Teacher Certification Tests (WSU LB1762 .D55 1999)
Available in Brain Education Library Reference.
- Note: Additional study guides can be located by searching in Griffin under the subject heading National Teacher Examinations - Study Guides.
- American Association for Employment in Education, Job Search Handbook for Educators (WSU LB1780 .J63 1999)
Available in Brain Education Library Reference.
- Dorothy M. Campbell, et al., How to Develop a Professional Portfolio: A Manual for Teachers (WSU LB2838 .H56 2001)
Available in Brain Education Library.
- Roy A. Edelfelt, Careers in Education (WSU LB1775 .E28 1998)
Available in Brain Education Library Reference.
- Edward G. Pultorak, Customizing your Resume for Teaching Positions
(WSU LB1780 .P85 1993)
Available in Brain Education Library
- Robert L. Wyatt III and Sandra Looper, So You Have to Have a Portfolio: A Teacher's Guide to Preparation and Presentation (WSU LB1728 .W93 1999)
Available in Brain Education Library.
- Chronicle of Higher Education Career Network (WWW)
The starting point for professionals in higher education. Updated weekly, the current week's announcements are available to subscribers only, but the previous week's announcements are freely available. Careers in Education can be found listed under "Social Sciences".
URL: http://chronicle.com/jobs/Note: The print edition of the Chronicle is available in WSU Holland Library under the call number LB2300 .C4.
- Educational Testing Service (WWW)
The ETS Web site includes sample questions and other information relevant to preparing for professional examinations such as the Praxis series and the School Leadership series.
URL: http://www.ets.org/
- National Clearinghouse for Professions in Special Education (WWW)
Provides "one-stop shopping" for information on becoming a special education teacher with links both to job information and to research materials related to the profession.
URL: http://www.specialedcareers.org/
- National Teacher Recruitment Clearinghouse (WWW)
Developed by Recruiting New Teachers, Inc., this Web site includes links to job banks nationwide, and to information on teacher recruitment and retention.
URL: http://www.recruitingteachers.org/
- Phi Delta Kappan Job Site (WWW)
Phi Delta Kappa, the international honor society in education, maintains this job site, which includes information on positions in classrooms, administration, policy analysis, government, and higher education.
URL: http://www.pdkintl.org/kappan/kjob.htm
- School Match (WWW)
School Match is a commercial service that provides demographic information of specific schools, school systems, and residential areas. The School Match database can be freely searched to access contact names and numbers for individual schools or school districts. More detailed information can be ordered online for a price.
URL: http://www.schoolmatch.com/
- Washington Center for Teaching Careers (WWW)
The Washington Center for Teaching Careers (WATeach) is "a one-stop information and referral recruitment center for individuals who may be interested in a teaching career." Links to FAQs, job announcements, and resume bulletin board.
URL: http://www.wateach.com
- Washington Education Association Joblink (WWW)
Job openings in the State of Washington, including K-12 and higher education.
- Teachers-Teachers.com (WWW)
More Job openings in the state of Washington.
URL: http://www.teachers-teachers.com/washington.cfm
- Become a Teacher: Survival Guide for New Teachers (WWW)
A collection of interviews and advice from 50 award-winning, first-year teachers. Topics include "Working with Veteran Teachers," "Working with Parents," etc.
URL: http://www.ed.gov/teachers/become/about/survivalguide/index.html
- Yahoo! - Education/Employment (WWW)
Directory of job search sites in K-12 and higher education from the popular Web directory.