George B. Brain Education Library
Guide to Information Resources in Education

Starting Your Research in Physical Education



Librarian | Education Library Home | Guide Home | Subject Guides | Definitions
Current News | Web Portals | Electronic Journals | Research Reports
Lesson Plans | Education Statistics | Professional Organizations | Jobs
Discussion Lists | Washington Information | Library Guides



Legend | Finding Books | Finding Articles
Reference Books | Journals | Washington Resources | Web Sites

Legend

The resources listed below may include freely-available sites on the World Wide Web, printed materials available in the Washington State University Libraries, and electronic resources available only to WSU-affiliated users. One or more of the following symbols should be found next to each of the individual resources listed below:

(WWW) - World Wide Web (a site that is freely available to all users);

(WSU) - WSU Library Resource (an item that is physically available in the George B. Brain Education Library, or elsewhere in the WSU Libraries. The call number that follows the WSU designation may point non-WSU users to similar resources in their local libraries):

Note: Clicking on any of the links to external resources provided below will open a new browser window.

Return to top



Finding Books

Griffin (WWW)
Use Griffin, the WSU Libraries' online catalog to locate books and other materials relevant to the study of physical education. You may search Griffin by author, title, or subject. Among the subject headings that may help you locate books at WSU are the following:

Works relevant to the study of physical education for discrete groups can also be found using subject headings such as:

URL: http://griffin.wsu.edu/search~

For additional assistance in using Griffin, please consult the Guide to Using Griffin (PDF).

Return to top



Finding Articles

ERIC (1966- ) (WWW)
This database is available online through the WSU Libraries home page. The Educational Resources Information Center produces this index to over 750 scholarly journals in the field of education. Also included is an index to thousands of "education documents," unpublished materials of all types that have been archived by ERIC and made available through the ERIC microfiche collection (including conference papers, speeches, government reports, etc.). The ERIC microfiche collection is available in the Brain Education Library.
URL: http://www.systems.wsu.edu/griffin/INDEXES.htm (select database by title)

Education Abstracts (1983- ) (WWW) (WSU Z5813 .E23)
This database is available online through the WSU Libraries home page. Over 350 educational publications are indexed in this database, including periodicals, yearbooks, and monographs. The print counterpart to this database, Education Index (1929- ), is available in Brain Education Library Reference.
URL: http://www.systems.wsu.edu/griffin/INDEXES.htm (select database by title)

Physical Education Index (1970- ) (WSU Holland GV201 .P58x)
This print index is available in Holland Library Reference. There is no electronic counterpart to this index available in the WSU Libraries.

SportDiscus (1975- ) (WWW)
This database is available online through the WSU Libraries home page. SportDiscus is a comprehensive international database containing sport and fitness literature developed by SIRC (Sport Information Resource Centre) of Canada covering sports medicine, exercise physiology, training, coaching, and other sport and fitness related topics. It indexes periodical articles, books, conference proceedings, research papers, other sources from participating countries around the world. Included is the French sports database Heracles.
URL: http://www.systems.wsu.edu/griffin/INDEXES.htm (select database by title)

Return to top



Selected Reference Books

Thomas Cureton, ed., Encyclopedia of Physical Education, Fitness, and Sports (WSU Holland Reference GV567 .E49)

Educators' Guide to Free Health, Physical Education and Recreation Materials. (WSU Educ Z6121 .E38)

ERIC Clearinghouse on Teaching and Teacher Education, Full Text Resources on Health and Physical Education
URL: http://www.ericsp.org/pages/healthpe/FullText.html

Vincent Melograno, Portfolio Assessment for K-12 Physical Education (on order)

National Association for Sport and Physical Education, Moving into the Future: National Physical Education Standards: A Guide to Content and Assessment (on order)

Carole A. Oglesby, et al., eds., Encyclopedia of Women and Sport in America, (WSU Holland Reference GV709 .E53 1998)

O. Potparic and J. Gibson, A Dictionary of Sports Injuries and Disorders, (WSU Owen Reference RC1206 .P68 1996)

Return to top



Selected Journals

Journal of Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (WSU Holland GV201 .J6)

Journal of Strength and Conditioning Research (WSU Holland GV546 .N382x)

Journal of Teaching in Physical Education (WSU Educ GV363 .J68)

Physical Educator (WSU Holland GV201 .P585x)

Research Quarterly for Exercise and Sport (WSU Holland GV201 .R4)

Strategies (WSU Holland GV201 .S87x)

Strength and Conditioning Journal (WSU Holland GV546 .N38x)

Return to top



Washington Resources

Washington Alliance for Health, Physical Education, Recreation, & Dance (WWW)
URL: http://www.wahperd.com/

Washington Superintendent of Public Instruction - Health & Fitness (WWW)
URL: http://www.k12.wa.us/healthfitness/

Return to top



Web Sites

American Academy of Kinesiology and Physical Education (WWW)
URL: http://www.aakpe.org/

ERIC - Health, Physical Education, & Dance Division (WWW)
URL: http://www.ericsp.org/pages/healthpe/index.html

Human Kinetics (WWW)
URL: http://www.humankinetics.com/

National Association for Physical Education in Higher Education (WWW)
URL: http://www.napehe.org/

PE Central (WWW)
URL: http://pe.central.vt.edu/

Sports-Media: Physical Education for All (WWW)
URL: http://www.sports-media.org/

Note: For additional Web-based resources in education, please consult the other guides, as well as the Web Portals page on this site.

Return to top