George B. Brain Education Library
Guide to Information Resources in EducationERIC Resources
Librarian | Education Library Home | Guide Home | Subject Guides | Definitions | News
Web Portals | Databases | ERIC | Electronic Journals | Research Reports | Lesson Plans
Education Statistics | Professional Organizations | Jobs | Discussion Lists
Washington Information | Library Guides | For Education Librarians
Legend | What is ERIC? | ERIC Home Page
ERIC Databases | ERIC Clearinghouses | Want to Know More?The resources listed below may include freely-available sites on the World Wide Web, printed materials available in the Washington State University Libraries, and electronic resources available only to WSU-affiliated users. One or more of the following symbols should be found next to each of the individual resources listed below:
- (WWW) - World Wide Web (a site that is freely available to all users);
- (WSU) - WSU Library Resource (an item that is physically available in the George B. Brain Education Library, or elsewhere in the WSU Libraries. The call number that follows the WSU designation may point non-WSU users to similar resources in their local libraries):
Note: Clicking on any of the links to external resources provided below will open a new browser window.
The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a project co-sponsored by the United States Department of Education's National Library of Education and a number of subject-specific clearinghouses, which identify and index materials relevant to the study of education. Both the Department of Education and the individual clearinghouses provide access to a variety of valuable information resources through the World Wide Web.
ERIC also produces a bibliographic database that includes citations and abstracts for a wide variety of published and unpublished resources in the field of education. To connect to the ERIC database, see below.
- ACCESS ERIC (WWW)
- The ERIC Home Page on the World Wide Web is provided through "ACCESS ERIC." From this page, you can view selected ERIC publications, including ERIC Digests, help materials, etc. You may also search the ERIC database and locate ERIC-affiliated Web sites.
URL: http://www.eric.ed.gov/
- ERIC (WWW)
- The ERIC database (1966- ) is available online through the WSU Libraries listing of article indexes. The Educational Resources Information Center produces this index to over 750 scholarly journals in the field of education. Also included is an index to thousands of "education documents," unpublished materials of all types that have been archived by ERIC and made available through the ERIC microfiche collection (including conference papers, speeches, government reports, etc.). The ERIC Microfiche Collection is housed in the Brain Education Library. WSU-affiliated users may select "ERIC" from the "Databases A-Z" listing found on the page below.
URL: http://www.systems.wsu.edu/griffin/INDEXES.htm
- ERIC (WWW)
- The ERIC database is also available freely on the World Wide Web in a number of formats for non-WSU-affiliated users. The features available on these free search systems may differ from what you are used to seeing.
URL: http://www.eric.ed.gov/searchdb/searchdb.html
- AskERIC (WWW)
- Reference questions answered, searchable archive of lesson plans, virtual library of online resources, and access to the ERIC database - all rolled into one.
URL: http://ericir.syr.edu/
- ERIC Digests (WWW)
- Search the titles and contents of hundreds of "ERIC Digests" produced by various ERIC Clearinghouses over the past two decades. These Digests are short reports on "topics of prime current interest in education." Aimed primarily at practitioners, but useful research tools as well (primarily for gathering citations on current issues).
URL: http://www.ed.gov/databases/ERIC_Digests/index/
- ERIC Reference Directories (WWW)
- Locate the nearest ERIC microfiche collection, find the date and location for an upcoming professional conference, etc.
URL: http://www.accesseric.org/resources/refdirs.html \
- Other ERIC Databases (WWW)
- Several of the ERIC Clearinghouses have established searchable databases of information germane to their subject areas. Visit the Clearinghouse relevant to your interest to see if any useful databases are provided.
- ERIC Clearinghouse on Adult, Career, and Vocational Education (The Ohio State University)
URL: http://ericacve.org/
- ERIC Clearinghouse on Assessment and Evaluation (University of Maryland)
URL: http://ericae.net/
- ERIC Clearinghouse for Community Colleges (University of California, Los Angeles)
URL: http://www.gseis.ucla.edu/ERIC/eric.html
- ERIC Clearinghouse on Counseling and Student Services (U. of North Carolina, Greensboro)
URL: http://ericcass.uncg.edu/
- ERIC Clearinghouse on Disabilities and Gifted Education (Council for Exceptional Children)
URL: http://ericec.org/
- ERIC Clearinghouse on Educational Management (University of Oregon)
URL: http://eric.uoregon.edu/
- ERIC Clearinghouse on Elementary and Early Childhood Education (University of Illinois)
URL: http://ericeece.org/
- ERIC Clearinghouse on Higher Education (George Washington University)
URL: http://www.eriche.org/
- ERIC Clearinghouse on Information and Technology (Syracuse University)
URL: http://ericir.syr.edu/ithome/
- ERIC Clearinghouse on Languages and Linguistics (Center for Applied Linguistics)
URL: http://www.cal.org/ericcll/
- ERIC Clearinghouse on Reading, English and Communication (Indiana University)
URL: http://www.indiana.edu/~eric_rec/
- ERIC Clearinghouse on Rural Education and Small Schools (Appalachia Educational Laboratory)
URL: http://www.ael.org/eric/
- ERIC Clearinghouse on Science, Mathematics, and Environmental Education (The Ohio State University)
URL: http://www.ericse.org/
- ERIC Clearinghouse on Social Studies/Social Science Education (Indiana University)
URL: http://www.indiana.edu/~ssdc/eric_chess.htm
- ERIC Clearinghouse on Teaching and Teacher Education (American Assn. of Colleges of Teacher Education)
URL: http://www.ericsp.org/
- ERIC Clearinghouse on Urban Education (Columbia University)
URL: http://eric-web.tc.columbia.edu/Note: There are also a number of "Adjunct ERIC Clearinghouses" in narrower fields of interest (e.g., the Adjunct ERIC Clearinghouse on Educational Opportunity). All ERIC sites, including Clearinghouses, Adjunct Clearinghouses, and support operations can be reached at: <http://www.eric.ed.gov/sites/barak.html>
- All About ERIC (EHS LB1028.26 .S53) (WWW)
- A detailed description of the ERIC system. Available in print in the EHS Library and freely available on the World Wide Web.
URL: http://www.accesseric.org/resources/allabout/index.html
- ERIC Reference Books (EHS Reference)
- The EHS Reference Collection includes a number of ERIC reference books, including the Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors.
The Thesaurus is now available online as well.
URL: http://www.ericfacility.net/extra/pub/thessearch.cfm
- ERIC Review (EHS LB1028 .E74) (WWW)
- News about the ERIC system, research reports, etc. Available in print in the EHS Library and freely available on the World Wide Web.
URL: http://www.accesseric.org/resources/ericreview/review.html
- ERIC Source Journal List (WWW)
- A searchable list of journals currently indexed in ERIC.
URL: http://www.ericfacility.net/extra/pub/sjisearch.cfmNote: Links to specific resources found on ERIC Clearinghouse Web sites can be found on many different pages on this site.