George B. Brain Education Library
Guide to Information Resources in EducationFinding Electronic Journals
Librarian | Education Library Home | Guide Home | Subject Guides | Definitions | News
Web Portals | Databases | Electronic Journals | Research Reports | Lesson Plans
Education Statistics | Professional Organizations | Jobs | Discussion Lists
Washington Information | Library Guides | For Education Librarians
Legend | Your First Stop | E-Journals at WSU
General E-Journals | Professional E-Journals | Scholarly E-Journals
Want to Know More?The resources listed below may include freely-available sites on the World Wide Web, printed materials available in the Washington State University Libraries, and electronic resources available only to WSU-affiliated users. One or more of the following symbols should be found next to each of the individual resources listed below:
- (WWW) - World Wide Web (a site that is freely available to all users);
- (WSU) - WSU Library Resource (an item that is physically available in the George B. Brain Education Library, or elsewhere in the WSU Libraries. The call number that follows the WSU designation may point non-WSU users to similar resources in their local libraries):
Note: Clicking on any of the links to external resources provided below will open a new browser window.
Your First Stop - Electronic Journals at WSU
- Education Abstracts Full Text (WSU)
- The Education Abstracts database now includes full-text articles from over 200 core journals in the field of education. Use the Article Indexes A-Z list to access the Education Abstracts database. Access is limited to WSU-affiliated users.
URL: http://www.systems.wsu.edu/griffin/INDEXES.htm
- Electronic Journals A-Z List (WSU)
- Use the A-Z List to identify, by title, the journals to which the WSU Libraries provides electronic access. Please note that, in many cases, access will be limited to WSU-affiliated users.
Good Online Resources
- Education Journals (WWW)
- An annotated list of journals in education, with an emphasis on K-12 and teacher education. Links to online materials included. Developed by librarians at the University of Wisconsin-Madison.
URL: http://webcat.library.wisc.edu:3102/
- Electronic Journals in the Field of Education (WWW)
- Developed by the Communications Among Researchers SIG of the American Educational Research Association, this collection includes "only links to electronic journals that are scholarly, peer-reviewed, full text and accessible without cost."
URL: http://aera-cr.ed.asu.edu/links.html
- Internet Public Library: Online Serials in Education (WWW)
- A mix of scholarly, professional, and popular journals in a variety of education fields. All should be freely accessible.
URL: http://www.ipl.org/cgi-bin/reading/serials.out.pl?ty=long&id=edu00.00.00
General Interest Electronic Journals
- Education Next (formerly known as "Education Matters") (WWW)
- Online version of a new journal dedicated to presenting "research and opinion" on education from a conservative political viewpoint. Complements the publications of the Thomas B. Fordham Foundation found on the Research Reports page of this site. A counterpoint to Rethinking Schools (below).
URL: http://www.educationnext.org/
- Education Week on the Web (WWW)
- Online version of one of the leading news sources in education. Focus is on current events, with more substantive articles available in its sister publication, Teacher Magazine. Includes a searchable archive of past issues (1981- ).
URL: http://www.edweek.org/
- Rethinking Schools Online
- Online version of one of the leading journals in urban education and educational reform. Committed to "equity and to the vision that public education is central to the creation of a humane, caring, multiracial democracy," Rethinking Schools presents critical reports on topics such as multicultural education, standardized testing, educational finance, and school choice. The web site includes links to related organizations and publications.
URL: http://www.rethinkingschools.org/
Professional Electronic Journals
- English Teaching Forum (WWW)
- Published by the United States Information Agency, this journal publishes articles of interest to teachers of English as a foreign or second language from around the world.
URL: http://exchanges.state.gov/forum/
- NEA Today Online (WWW) (WSU L11 .N33x)
- Current events and other information from the National Education Association. Print copy is retained for one year in the Brain Education Library.
URL: http://www.nea.org/neatoday/
- Northwest Education (WWW) (WSU LA230.5 N8.N8x)
- Published by the Northwest Regional Educational Laboratory, this journal publishes information on education in the Pacific Northwest.
URL: http://www.nwrel.org/nwedu/
- Northwest Teacher (WWW) (PDF)
- Another product of the Northwest Regional Educational Laboratory, this journal focuses on math and science education.
URL: http://www.nwrel.org/msec/nwteacher/index.html
- Student Affairs Online (WWW)
- Published by Student Affairs.com, this is a journal focusing on the use of technology in the student affairs profession.
URL: http://www.studentaffairs.com/ejournal/archive.html
- Teaching History with Technology (WWW) (PDF)
- This journal aims provides concrete suggestions to secondary school social studies teachers on how to integrate technology into their classroom teaching. Practitioner-written articles provide "a short account of the objectives of the activity, the technology used, and a fairly detailed explanation of the activity carried out in class."
URL: http://www.caryacademy.org/historytech/
- The Technology Source (WWW)
- Published by the Michigan Virtual University, this is a peer-reviewed journal focusing on how to integrate technology into teaching and into educational administration.
URL: http://ts.mivu.org/
- Thought and Action (PDF)
- Published by the National Education Association, this journal provides articles on current trends in higher education, tips on teaching in the college classroom, and book reviews.
URL: http://www.nea.org/he/tanda.html
- Voices from the Field (WWW)
- Produced by the Northeast and Islands Regional Educational Laboratory, this journal presents essays on educational reform from the perspective of practicing classroom teachers. Click on the "Archive" link to view a complete list of issues.
URL: http://www.lab.brown.edu/public/voices/
- The ALAN Review (WWW) (WSU Z1037.A1A43x)
- Online version of the journal of the Assembly on Literature for Adolescents (ALAN) provides links to full-text articles on young adult literature back to 1994. Print edition is available in the Brain Education Library.
URL: http://scholar.lib.vt.edu/ejournals/ALAN/alan-review.html
- Bilingual Research Journal (WWW) (PDF)
- Online version of the National Association of Bilingual Education journal from 1992 - . Articles on theory and practice of bilingual education, administration of bilingual education programs, legal context of bilingual education, etc.
URL: http://brj.asu.edu
- Cell Biology Education (WWW) (PDF)
- An online journal published by the American Society for Cell Biology focusing on life science education at the K-12, undergraduate, and graduate levels.
URL: http://www.cellbiologyeducation.org/
- Current Issues in Education (WWW)
- An online journal produced by the College of Education at Arizona State University. Includes materials on "curriculum and instruction, policy, social and philosophical foundations, psychology, technology, school counseling, and research methodology in education."
URL: http://cie.ed.asu.edu/
- Education Reviews (WWW)
- Online reviews of recent books in the field of education. Includes access to an electronic discussion list that announces new book reviews to subscribers.
URL: http://www.ed.asu.edu/edrev/
- Educational Researcher (WWW) (WSU LB1028 .E2)
- Online version of "the leading source of news and opinion on educational research" (published by the American Educational Research Association).
URL: http://www.aera.net/pubs/er/
- Educational Technology Review (WWW)
- New, online version of the journal of the Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE). Includes articles on distance learning, pedagogy for Web-based instruction, etc.
URL: http://www.aace.org/pubs/etr/index.cfm
- European Educational Researcher (PDF)
- Online version of the research journal of the European Educational Research Association (EERA).
URL: http://www.eera.ac.uk/publications/eer/index.html
- International Review of Research in Open and Distance Learning (PDF)
- Peer-reviewed electronic journal providing articles on theory, research, and practice of distance education.
URL: http://www.irrodl.org/
- Journal of the Imagination in Language Learning (WWW)
- Published by the Center for the Imagination in Language Learning at New Jersey City University, this journal "is concerned with theoretical and practical relationships between the imagination and the acquisition of first and subsequent languages," and includes articles both of a scholarly and of a practical nature.
URL: http://www.njcu.edu/cill/journal-index.html
- Perspectives on Urban Education (WWW)
- Published by the University of Pennsylvania Graduate School of Education, this journal provides an interdisciplinary approach to inquiry into urban education, including work based both in research and in practice.
URL: http://www.urbanedjournal.org/
- Practical Assessment, Research, & Evaluation (WWW)
- Published by the ERIC Clearinghouse on Assessment & Evaluation, PARE aims "to provide education professionals access to refereed articles that can have a positive impact on assessment, research, evaluation, and teaching practice." Includes searchable archives.
URL: http://pareonline.net/
- Reading Online (WWW)
- Published by the International Reading Association, this "journal of K-12 practice and research" includes peer-reviewed research articles, book reviews, practitioner-oriented teaching tips, and an electronic discussion list to allow further discussion of the articles. Includes an archive of past issues.
URL: http://www.readingonline.org/
- School Library Media Research (WWW)
- Published by the American Association of School Librarians, SLMR features articles related to the theory and practice of school librarianship.
URL: http://www.ala.org/aasl/SLMR/index.html
- Simile: Studies in Media and Information Literacy (WWW)
- Peer-reviewd journal aimed at media educators, librarians, and others interested in integrating media and information skills instruction into their research and teaching.
URL: http://www.utpjournals.com/simile/
- Finding Electronic Journals in Education (Word)
- A short guide to the topic from the WSU Libraries.
URL: http://www.wsulibs.wsu.edu/educ/docs/ejournals.doc