George B. Brain Education Library
Guide to Information Resources in Education

Education Databases and Related Resources



Librarian | Education Library Home | Guide Home | Subject Guides | Definitions | News
Web Portals | Databases | Electronic Journals | Research Reports | Lesson Plans
Education Statistics | Professional Organizations | Jobs | Discussion Lists
Washington Information | Library Guides | For Education Librarians



Legend | Education Research | Professional Materials | Allied Fields | On the World Wide Web

Legend

There are a number of databases available through the WSU Libraries that can help you locate and access journal literature and other materials related to research and practice in the field of education. Each of the databases listed below can be accessed either on campus or from a remote location such as your home or office through the "Article Indexes and Other Databases A-Z" listing.

If you have any questions regarding which database to use to answer an information need, or any problems accessing the database from campus or from home, please contact one of the WSU Libraries' reference desks or your liaison librarian.

Note: Clicking on any of the links to external resources provided below will open a new browser window.

Return to top



For Research in the Field of Education

Education Abstracts/Education Full Text (1983- )

H. W. Wilson produces this index to over 500 educational journals and publications, including periodicals, yearbooks, and monographs. Over 250 of the journals indexed in this database include full-text articles available online (1996- ). The print counterpart to this database, Education Index (1929- ), is available in reference area of the George B. Brain Education Library (WSU Educ Z5813 .E23).

ERIC (1966-)

The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) produces this index to over 750 scholarly journals in the field of education (and in allied fields such as human development and psychology). Also included is an index to thousands of "education documents," unpublished materials of all types that have been archived by ERIC and made available through the ERIC microfiche collection (including conference papers, speeches, government reports, etc.). The ERIC microfiche collection is available in the George B. Brain Education Library. Many of the journal articles listed in ERIC are available online through journals listed on the WSU Libraries "Electronic Journals A-Z" list. Many of the documents listed in ERIC are available online through E*Subscribe (see below).

E*Subscribe
E*Subscribe is a database of full-text "education documents" linked to the ERIC database. Approximately 80% of the documents found in the ERIC database and published from 1993- can be accessed electronically through the E*Subscribe link found at the bottom of the detailed record for each document (i.e., ERIC records in which the accession number begins with the letters "ED"). All materials available electronically through E*Subscribe are also available in microfiche as part of the ERIC microfiche collection in the George B. Brain Education Library.

Return to top



For Professional Materials in the Field of Education

Kraus Curriculum Development Library (KCDL)
The KCDL provides access to curriculum materials collected from school districts, state departments of education, professional associations, and other educational organizations. The KCDL database is available online through the WSU Libraries home page. You can also locate selected KCDL materials in Griffin by conducting a keyword search for "Kraus Curriculum."

The KCDL database (KCDL Online) provides full-text access to curriculum materials from 1999 - present. It also provides references to more than 25 years worth of curriculum materials available as part of the KCDL Microfiche Collection, which is available in the George B. Brain Education Library.

Wilson Catalogs (Children's Catalog, Middle & Junior High School Catalog, Senior High School Catalog)

H.W. Wilson produces this set of databases that provide information about fiction and non-fiction books recommended for children and for use in reading across the curriculum programs at the elementary, middle, and secondary levels. Children's and young adult literature identified through a search of the Wilson Catalogs must be located in Griffin to determine local availability.

Return to top



For Research in the Allied Fields

Library Literature (1984 - )
H. W. Wilson produces this index to approximately 300 journals in the field of library and information science (including school librarianship and reading education). Many of the journal articles listed in Library Literature are available online through journals listed on the WSU Libraries "Electronic Journals A-Z" list . The print counterpart to this database (1921- ) is available in the reference area of the Holland/New Library (WSU Holland Z666 .L69).

PsycINFO (1887 - )
The American Psychological Association (APA) produces this index to over 1,300 journals in the field of psychology. PsycINFO also includes citations to dissertations, books, and book chapters in edited volumes in the field of psychology. Many of the journal articles listed in PsycINFO are available online through journals listed on the WSU Libraries "Electronic Journals A-Z" list .

Sociological Abstracts/SocAbs (1963 - )
This index to the literature of sociology includes listings from over 2,500 journals. SocAbs also includes citations to conference papers presented at various sociological association meetings, dissertations, book reviews, and selected sociology books. Many of the journal articles listed in SocAbs are available online through journals listed on the WSU Libraries "Electronic Journals A-Z" list . The print counterpart to this database (1953-1998) is available in the reference area of the Holland/New Library (WSU Holland HM1 .S67).

Return to top



Education Databases on the World Wide Web

There are a number of databases relevant to the field of education freely available on the World Wide Web. Among the most useful are:

Test Reviews Online (Buros Institute of Mental Measurements)
A searchable database of test reviews that can then be purchased from the Buros Institute.
TestLink (ETS)
A searchable database of descriptions of some 20,000 tests.

Return to top