George B. Brain Education Library
Guide to Information Resources in Education

Finding Curriculum Materials and Lesson Plans



Librarian | Education Library Home | Guide Home | Subject Guides | Definitions | News
Web Portals | Databases | Electronic Journals | Research Reports | Lesson Plans
Education Statistics | Professional Organizations | Jobs | Discussion Lists
Washington Information | Library Guides | For Education Librarians



Legend | Lesson Plans at WSU
Lesson Plans on the Web | Commercial and Professional Networks | Other Curriculum Sites
Want to Know More?

Legend

The resources listed below may include freely-available sites on the World Wide Web, printed materials available in the Washington State University Libraries, and electronic resources available only to WSU-affiliated users. One or more of the following symbols should be found next to each of the individual resources listed below:

(WWW) - World Wide Web (a site that is freely available to all users);

(WSU) - WSU Library Resource (an item that is physically available in the George B. Brain Education Library, or elsewhere in the WSU Libraries. The call number that follows the WSU designation may point non-WSU users to similar resources in their local libraries):

Note: Clicking on any of the links to external resources provided below will open a new browser window.

Return to top



Return to top



Curriculum Materials and Lesson Plans at WSU

George B. Brain Education Library (WSU)
The library provides access to a wide range of curriculum materials, including curriculum guides, textbooks, and kits. Please visit the library to view printed guides to these materials.

A guide to library resources related to curriculum development is also available in Word or PDF format.

Kraus Curriculum Development Library (WSU)
The George B. Brain Education Library provides access to the Kraus Curriculum Development Library (KCDL) in microfiche form and online via the Libraries' Article Indexes/E-Journals page. An index to KCDL materials is available in the library.

Return to top



Curriculum Materials and Lesson Plans on the World Wide Web

Blue Web'n (WWW)
An archive of over 1,000 "learning sites" on the World Wide Web. Contents are searchable by subject, grade level, keyword, and type (e.g., tools, activities, projects). All sites are annotated and evaluated. A "Weekly Update" of new sites is available by e-mail.
URL: http://www.kn.pacbell.com/wired/bluewebn/

Curricular Resources (WWW)
Developed by the Yale - New Haven Teachers Institute, this site provides access to curriculum units created by Institute Fellows from 1978 - present. Unit plans for virtually any subject are available, and may be found using the site's well-designed subject index.
URL: http://www.cis.yale.edu/ynhti/curriculum/

EdSitement (WWW)
A joint project of the National Endowment for the Humanities, the Council of Great City Schools, and others, this site is "a constantly growing collection of the most valuable online resources for teaching English, history, art history, and foreign languages." Includes lesson plans.
URL: http://edsitement.neh.gov/

Educational Resources & Lesson Plans (WWW)
Developed by Edmund Sass for use by his students in the education program at College of Saint Benedict/ St. John's University (Minnesota), this extensive list of resources is organized by subject area and by user group need (e.g., resources for students, resources for teachers, etc.). Over 1,000 links are provided, many with brief annotations describing the site contents.
URL: http://www.cloudnet.com/~edrbsass/edres.htm

Federal Resources for Educational Excellence (WWW)
Links to educational materials, Web sites, and digital collections housed on federal government Web sites. Organized by subject and searchable. Can be used in conjunction with GEM (below).
URL: http://www.ed.gov/free/index.html

IDEAS (WWW)
Developed by the TEACH Wisconsin Collaboration Committee, IDEAS provides a searchable database of peer-reviewed lesson plans and instructional materials by content area and grade level, and keyed to the Wisconsin Model Academic Standards.
URL: http://www.IDEAS.wisconsin.edu/

Learn NC - Lesson Plans (WWW)
Part of the North Carolina Teacher's Network, this is a searchable database of lesson plans developed by NC teachers. Organized by subject and grade level.
URL: http://www.learnnc.org/learnnc/lessonp.nsf

Read, Write, Think (WWW)
Sponsored by the International Reading Association and the National Council of Teachers of English, this site promises "access to the highest quality practices and resources in reading and language arts education." Includes links to standards and recommended Web sites, as well as to lesson plans.
URL: http://www.readwritethink.org/

Return to top



Commercial and Professional Networks

Discovery School: Lesson Plan Library (WWW)
Lesson plans and activities organized by grade level and by subject. Part of Discover.com's Discovery School, this site links to a wide variety of resources for students, teachers, and parents. Custom worksheets, games, and other activities can be created directly from the site
URL: http://school.discovery.com/lessonplans/index.html

New York Times Learning Network (WWW)
Provides lesson plans and classroom activities related to news items found in the New York Times.
URL: http://www.nytimes.com/learning/

PBS TeacherSource (WWW)
Provides lesson plans, classroom activities, Web-based lessons, and more. Linked to PBS content and to PBS educational outreach efforts. Offers a free e-mail update, "PBS Teacher Previews."
URL: http://www.pbs.org/teachersource/

Turner Learning Network (WWW)
Provides lesson plans, activities, and teacher guides related to news items found on the Cable News Network (CNN) and educational and entertainment programming broadcast on other commercial television stations owned by Turner Broadcasting. Offers a "CNN Newsroom Daily Classroom Guide" by free e-mail subscription.
URL: http://turnerlearning.com/index.html

U.S. News Classroom (WWW)
Provides lesson plans, teacher guides, supplemental materials and classroom activities aimed at helping teachers integrate current events into the classroom. Developed by U.S. News & World Report.
URL: http://www.usnewsclassroom.com/

Return to top



Other Curriculum Sites

Textbook Information Network (WWW)
A commercial site that collects information on K-12 textbooks and textbook publishers.
URL: http://www.textbook.com/

University of Illinois Curriculum Collection (WWW)
Research guide and location guides to materials found in the University of Illinois Curriculum Collection. The search suggestions are not universally applicable, but there are a number of useful citations to curriculum guides, journals, and software that may also be available locally.
URL: http://www.library.uiuc.edu/edx/currcoll.htm

Return to top



Want to Know More?

ERIC(WSU)
Lesson plans and other curriculum materials may be available in limited amounts through the ERIC Microfiche Collection, housed in the George B. Brain Education Library. Please visit the reference desk if you need help locating lesson plans and curriculum materials using the ERIC database.

Lesson Plans (WWW)
Links to additional lesson plan archives available online provided by the Curriculum Materials Commitee of the Education and Behavioral Sciences Section of the Association of College & Research Libraries.
URL: http://libweb.uncc.edu/cimc/ebsscmc/lessonplans.htm

Return to top